Why it’s okay to not have everything figured out.

Do you often feel like something is missing in your life?

Do you feel like because you’re a certain age you should be more put together?

Well, I’m here to tell you that not everyone has everything figured out.

If someone says they have it all figured out they are lying to you or are ignoring the fact that life is a co-creative process.

Generally, when we see people, especially on social media, we see the finished product.

I’ve noticed that even those trying to be vulnerable on social media still look like a finished product on some level.

I’m not saying I don’t do the same thing.

If I don’t do my videos live, I redo them until that strand of hair stays in place or something.

I’m not knocking it, being vulnerable is hard.

The point is this, we have more time to compare ourselves to other based on social media because we are sitting at home, and it’s time to stop.

It’s okay to not have everything figured out, don’t let the outside world try to convince you otherwise.

When we attempt to have every single thing figured out, there comes a level of rigidity and extremes.

You have your meal plan figured out for the whole month, so you’re afraid to leave your house because it will derail the whole thing.

Or you’ve decided you’re going to do factory work, work until you retire, and live off a pension until you die.

Then you’re blindsided by the fact that they are moving your work overseas or are closing down the factory.

This is true with any job, but I feel like factory workers get shafted a lot, just like farmers.

When you go through life with that rigid belief can throw you when the rug is pulled out from under you.

It’s like the parable about the dude who built his house on the rock and the dude who built his house on the sand.

The guy with the sand house was sure that it wasn’t going to rain, there would be no wind, and the sand will always be there.

If you know the story you know what happened to that guy’s house.

Another great example is from the book, “Who Moved My Cheese?”

The guy who demanded the cheese comes back and kind of sits there gets into huge trouble.

However, the people who are actively looking for the cheese don’t know where it is, but if they keep walking they’ll find out.

Read the book, the author tells it better than my poor summation of the story.

If you’re sure you have it all figured out, the rigidity of it can and will implode.

Another reason that it’s okay to not have it figured out is that it gives you the opportunity for growth.

It also gives you the space to realize that not having everything figured out is not the same as lacking something.

I’ve given this talk before about how there’s nothing to fix, there are just opportunities to grow.

Feeling terrible because Brenda from high school seems to have it figured out but you don’t is a scarcity mindset.

Coming from a place of abundance would give Brenda the grace of being fallible, and giving yourself the same grace.

Because believe me, Brenda is fallible, just like you are, just like I am.

That’s okay.

Don’t ask me why I chose Brenda. Brenda is just the first name that comes to my mind when I make up scenarios.

To summarize this whole thing, it’s okay to not have everything figured out because it allows you to be flexible, to have room for growth, to come from an abundance mindset, and to be able to participate in the co-creative process with all of us other schmucks who don’t have everything figured out either.

Until next time.

Classically,

Angela

Author: Angela Ruiz

I’m an amateur blogger trying to find my way in the world. As a Master of Music Education and 6 years of teaching orchestra my life is heading in a new direction. As an entrepreneur and violinist, I’m exploring this new normal.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started